al-Baqarah 2:219; Muhammad 47:15; at-Tatfif 83:25
Wine is haram (prohibited) in Islam in this life, but is given as reward to the faithful believers in paradise.
A good overview on the topic can be found in A. J. Wensinck's classic article, Wine in Islam. It is interesting to see how Islam's view of wine changed as Muhammad's needs of the moment changed.
The following articles discuss various aspects around the issue of wine:
Go Back to Main Index